People News – Nov. 18, 2016

A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Eugene Choi has joined the management team of Ryan LLC as a principal to lead its international expansion throughout the Asia-Pacific Region. He will be based in Sydney.



Russell G. Golden has been reappointed chairman of the Financial Accounting Standards Board. (See the story.) In addition, the trustees of the Financial Accounting Foundation voted to restructure the FAF trustee committees. (See the story.) The trustees also appointed four new members of the Private Company Council to three-year terms that begin on Jan. 1, 2017: Beth I. van Bladel, director of CFO for Hire LLC; David J. Hirsch, vice president of finance, at Pritzker Group Private Capital; Richard N. Reisig, shareholder and technical director of attest services at Anderson ZurMuehlen & Co. PC; and Yan Zhang, a partner at EisnerAmper LLP.


Belfint, Lyons & Shuman, PA, Wilmington, announced a number of promotions: Stephanie L. Chapman, who joined the firm in 2009, has been promoted to principal, while Michael D. Kelly, Karly A. Laughlin and Michael E. Mast have been promoted to manager.



Alvaro Florez has joined the risk advisory practice of MBAF as a principal. He will split his time between the Miami and New York City offices.



Eileen E. Brassil, a partner at Legacy Professionals, has been appointed to the American Institute of CPAs’ Employee Benefit Plans Expert Panel. … Louis Shiber has joined Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP as a senior manager in the health care practice. … A team of College of DuPage accounting students tied Northern Illinois University for first place in the PricewaterhouseCoopers Challenge case competition. Among the COD students who participated in the case competition were Aidan Borre, Vandana Sharma, Priyanka Tenneti, Micheli Venky, Emily Keith; Mark Skager, Dean Kozora, Brian Sechrist, Matt Pedraza, Saud Ali, Nick Larson, Curtis Gulloro, and Nate Narofsky.




Bill Barks has joined Sponsel CPA Group, Indianapolis, as a director to head up the Employee Benefit Plan Services Department.



Jaron Zamarripa has been promoted to supervisor at Lewis, Hooper & Dick LLC, Garden City. … Pamela Schmidt, an assistant professor of accounting at Washburn University, received the Best Education Paper Award from the American Accounting Association for her educational business case paper “Casey’s Collections: A Risk Assessment Case,” co-authored with Kimberly Swanson Church, an assistant professor of accounting at University of Missouri-Kansas City.


The Accounting & Financial Women’s Alliance, Lexington, gave its President’s Award to Marie J. Ramkey of Richmond, Va., and its Emerging Leader Award to Corinne Dougherty of Washington, D.C.


Gerard H. Schreiber, a partner with Schreiber & Schreiber CPAs, Metairie, received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Institute of CPAs’ Tax Division for his extraordinary contributions to the work of the division.



Alvin Katz, co-founder and director of KatzAbosch, and principal Chad Seifert were honored at SmartCEO’s Centers of Influence Awards. Out of the 14 honorees profiled for the Accountant Category, Katz was announced as one of the overall winners.



Brian Kelleher has been admitted to EisnerAmper LLP as a tax partner. He will work from the Iselin office.


Mark Greenberg has joined Alvarez & Marsal as a managing director in the unsecured creditors’ committee practice.


Cohen & Co. announced a number of new hires: In Akron, Beth Reho has joined the firm as a director; and Alec Borlin, Corey DeGirolamo, Alice Hottensmith, Sara Kleines, Mike Mangine, Yuvraj Sharma, and Emily Wright as staff accountants; in Cleveland, Tim Maynard has joined the firm as a partner, Lori Novak as a director, and Martin Dulellari, Jack Faett, Kyle Jarecki, Wesley Skupski, Alexis Turnea, Robert Winemiller, Mike Womack, Kerri Bartlebaugh, Franco Caponi, Stephen Fleischer, Ryan Hochberg, Marissa Holman, Nick Iacobelli, Claire LoPresti, Nikola Majerle, David Nowak, Christopher Pokorny, Ben Quallich, Maria Revello, Vipavee Tamprateep, Raymond To and Adam Zimmerman as staff accountants; in Milwaukee, Jay Laurila has joined the firm as a director, and Steven Mann and David Reese as staff accountants; in St. Clair Shores, Nathan Greenfelder, Trevor Hale and Brady Savage have joined the firm as staff accountants; and in Youngstown, Anthony Ferraro, Michelle Zdelar, Leah Finnerty, Randy Pavlicko, Joseph Smith and Christopher Trucksis have joined the firm as staff accountants. … Rea & Associates, New Philadelphia, announced a number of promotions: Brent Ardit, Scott Moyer and Dustin Raber were promoted to principal; Derek Conrad, Ben Froese, Chad Gorfido, Melane Howell, Ted Klimczak, Ashley Matthews, Joe Popp and Matt Sanders to senior manager; Anne M. Baker and Susan Custer to manager; Nathan Esselburn, Brian Garland, AJ Knapp, Cassandra Pierce, Katie Snyder and Kimberly Veal to supervisor; Chris Bodemann, Joss Celuch Lauren Holt, Mark Manwaring, Kevin Quinn, Cody Smith and Maura Zace to senior accountant; and Joshua Agin and Samantha Coon to staff accountant. In addition, the firm’s Cody Dial, Brock Hartzler and Jennifer Masters were nominated and selected by the Spotlight Award Committee to receive the firm’s fourth annual Richard Rea Award for Service to the Client. … Kael Campbell has been promoted to senior accountant at Ciuni & Panichi Inc., Cleveland. … Bob Kling has joined GBQ, Cincinnati, as a director in the tax practice.



George Vrettos has joined GBQ as a director and head of East Coast operations for the firm as it expands its SALT services practice to Philadelphia. … Rebecca Schell has been promoted to senior II accountant at Dunlap & Associates PC, Chalfont.



Craig Liechty has been named Nashville office managing shareholder Elliott Davis Decosimo.


Former FBI Special Agent Frederick M. Bennett has joined Sikich LLP to lead the new Dallas office and the investigations team within the dispute advisory practice. … Rob Popovitch has joined the Dallas office of Andersen Tax as a managing director in the Private Client Service Group.


SEC Chair Mary Jo White announced that she intends to leave at the end of the Obama Administration. (See the story.) 


Jeffrey A. Porter received the 2016 Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award from the Tax Division of the American Institute of CPAs. (See the story.) 



Walter Smith, a CPA, firm owner and former vice president of the National Conference of CPA Practitioners, died on Nov. 16 at the age of 80. A memorial mass for the Army veteran, husband and father of six will be held at 12:30 p.m., on Nov. 22 at St. Joseph’s Church in Baraboo. Visitation will be held from 5-7 p.m., on Nov. 21, at Redlin Funeral Home, and from 11:30 a.m. until the time of mass and at church on Nov. 22. … Sherrie Krowczyk-Mendoza has joined the Milwaukee office of Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP as a partner in the banking, governance, risk and compliance practice. In addition, Rebekah Martin, a partner in the Minneapolis office, has been named a Top Woman in Finance by Finance & Commerce newspaper.

Send your personnel announcements to

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.