Robert Herz has been elected to the SASB's Board of Directors. Herz—whose three-year term begins on Jan. 1, 2015 — will play an instrumental role in determining the structure and process for the finalization of SASB standards, working closely with SASB staff and the Standards Council to extend the rigorous processes already established.


Jose Vila has joined Cherry Bekaert LLP as an audit partner in the firm's South Florida practice. His industry expertise includes real estate, construction, hospitality, retail, manufacturing and distribution companies. … J. Adam Nelson has joined CBIZ MHM LLC in its South Florida location. … Gustavo Perez, who is an advisory principal at Cherry Bekaert LLP, has earned the Intangible Assets Specialty Designation by the American Society of Appraisers. … Elisa Whitacre has joined Markham Norton Mosteller Wright & Company as a member of the firm’s tax team.


Ryan Hampton has been named director on Sikich Investment Banking capital markets team. Previously, Hampton served as a vice president of investment banking at Clark Dodge & Company/Advanced Equities and as a vice president at Bank of America Merrill Lynch, where he raised capital for early-stage through publicly traded companies and completed numerous mergers and acquisitions. … John Straus, Hao Tran and Emily Heim have joined the professional accounting staff at Mathieson, Moyski, Austin & Co. LLP. … Grant Thornton LLP names CEO Stephen Chipman senior vice chair effective Jan. 1, 2015. The appointment follows the firm’s announcement in June of J. Michael McGuire assuming the role as CEO in 2015. In this role, Chipman will lead the firm’s international and public policy operations. He will also remain active with major client relationships and in numerous professional, business and civic organizations.


Meredith Root has joined Root & Associates LLC as a senior accountant. She will be responsible for serving small business clients in the areas of tax, accounting, and business advisory services. A tech-savvy millennial, Root will contribute greatly to the firm’s powerful, progressive brand.


Taylor Edge has joined the Owensboro office of Riney Hancock CPAs as a staff accountant in the audit and assurance division.


Maria Sevilla and Chris Stang were promoted to in charge accountants at DeLeon & Stang CPAs and Advisors.


James Brown has been honored with The American Institute of CPAs Sustained Contribution Award, which recognizes members who have contributed measurably to the AICPA and accounting profession with a long and exemplary record of volunteer service. Robert Harris is the recipient of the AICPA’s 2014 Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service. Tommye Barie is the new chair of the board of directors of the American Institute of CPAs, the world’s largest member organization representing the accounting profession.


Marvin Johnson has joined Brown Smith Wallace as manager in the firm’s advisory services practice and will lead the firm’s Real Estate Advisory Services Construction Auditing group. Johnson was most recently a member at Construction Management Partners, LLC, and a senior project manager at BJC Healthcare – Planning Design & Construction. He has 28 years of project-construction management experience in local, regional and national design and construction markets.


Christopher Martin, who is a supervisor at Hunter Group CPA LLC, has been named vice president of the Bergen area chapter of Business Networking International. …


Johanna Morocho and John Rabal have joined Markowitz, Fenelon & Bank LLP in its East Hampton office. Nicole Jonat has joined the firm in its Southampton office.


Ciuni & Panichi has made several promotions throughout the firm. Nick Leacoma, was promoted to senior manager, in the tax department. Erik Bukovec, was promoted to a manager in the audit & accounting services department. Jake Roelen was prmoted to manager in the audit & accounting services department. Brett Benjamin was promoted to a senior accountant in the audit & accounting services department. John Ricchiuto to senior accountant, audit & accounting services department, and Jamie Zelinski, was also promoted to senior accountant in the audit & accounting services department.


The American Institute of CPAs has named Troy Lewis chairman of its Tax Executive Committee. Lewis is vice president and chief enterprise risk management officer at Heritage Bank in St. George, Utah and is the sole proprietor of Lewis & Associates, CPAs, LLC based in Draper, Utah.


Sharon Day has joined Cherry Bekaert LLP as a senior manager at the firm’s Virginia Beach practice.


Damien Greathead has been appointed vice president – Business Development, North America for of Receipt Bank. Receipt Bank is used by accountants and bookkeepers to reduce their data entry and to increase their practice efficiency.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access