At the current Fall Council meeting in Maui, Hawaii, the AICPA announced that 41 CPAs have received its Sustained Contribution Award. The Contribution award looks to recognize Institute members who have significantly contributed to the AICPA and the CPA profession through their volunteer service.

All of the recipients have served on an Institute volunteer group for 20 or more years and have served at least once as a chair of an AICPA committee, task force or resource panel.

“The AICPA congratulates all of the recipients of this year’s Sustained Contribution Award,” said Kathy Johnson, member of the AICPA’s award committee, per a statement. “The work they’ve done in volunteer leadership roles at the AICPA has strengthened the profession.”

Johnson recognized the following CPAs at the fall meeting of the AICPA’s governing Council (in alphabetical order):


Carl Alongi - New Mexico

John Archambault - Illinois

Edward Bader - Connecticut

Timothy James Bartz - Montana

Michael Bolas - New York

Gary Larren Boomer - Kansas

W.A. Broadus, Jr. - Virginia

Andrew Capelli - South Carolina

Brian Arthur Caswell - New York

S. Thomas Cleveland - California

John Richard Connell - Colorado

Michael Conway - South Carolina

James Downey - New Mexico

Dirk Edwards - Oregon

James Don Edwards - Georgia

Kathryn Forbes - Arizona

William Grooms - South Carolina

Michael Harnish - Washington

Arthur Hoffman - New York

William Wallace Holder - California

Stephen Downing Holton - Virginia

Sandra Johnigan - Texas

Jean Joy - Massachusetts

Wayne Kolins - New York

John Marcus Lacey - California

Mary Rapp MacBain - Kansas

John Meinert - Illinois

Edmund Noonan - Connecticut

David Pearson - Missouri

Richard Piluso - New Jersey

Alfred Pruskowski - New York

Thomas M. Stemlar - Arizona

Sandra Suran - Oregon

Paula Bevels Thomas - Tennessee

Patricia Thompson - Rhode Island

Richard Thorsen - Minnesota

George Tucker - California

Randy Watson - Colorado

Thomas Weirich - Michigan

Doyle Williams - Maryland

Wes Williams - Indiana

For more on the AICPA, head to their site here.