The New York State Society of CPAs and its Foundation for Accounting Education announced the 51 in-state students who will receive the Excellence in Accounting Scholarships for the 2012-13 school year.

Forty-eight college students received $2,500 scholarships and three student graduates of FAE’s Career Opportunities in the Accounting Professions program each received $10,000 scholarships.   

“The Foundation for Accounting Education takes great pride in awarding these scholarships to truly deserving students in an effort to support their educational goals,” said FAE president John Kearney in a statement. “By encouraging top-level students to enter the field of accounting, we hope to strengthen the professional as a whole.”

Recipients of the $2,500 scholarships must be a declared accounting major, have achieved an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, and be eligible for financial aid. FAE identifies eligible students through its dedicated campus liaisons on 47 college campuses in New York State.

The $10,000 scholarships will be awarded as accounting program tuition over the next five years to high school students who have graduated the COAP program and will be starting college in the fall.

Founded in 1987, the COAP program recruits minority students underrepresented in the CPA profession from New York State public and private schools.

The 2012-13 Excellence in Accounting Scholarship recipients are (listed by school):

Alfred University - Christine Donivan 
Canisius College – John Gannon 
Canisius College – Jeffrey Farr 
Canisius College – Michael Carrig 
CUNY Baruch – Pedro Reyes 
Daemen College – Kristy Redding 
Elmira College – Steffan Waters 
Hartwick College – Lindsey Frawley 
Hilbert College – Adam Clabo 
Hilbert College – Jeffery Ritter 
Hofstra University – Edgar Huamantla 
Ithaca College – Jilian Kowalowski 
Ithaca College – Scott Koblick 
Le Moyne College – Kelly Anderson 
Le Moyne College – Bradley Canino 
Manhattan College – Nicole Landes 
Manhattan College – Alba Lika 
Marist College – Emilio Menendez 
Molloy College – Lesya Zazdravnaya 
Molloy College – William Surowiec 
Nazareth College – Jacquelyn Reis 
Rochester Institute of Technology – Daniel Mancuso 
Siena College – Raymond Brown 
Siena College – Melissa McLaughlin 
St. Francis College – Chandradath Ramotar 
St. Francis College – Vanessa Mateo 
St. John Fisher College - Kristi Jeffres 
St. John Fisher College – Mark Fancher 
The College of St. Rose – Andrew Kochian 
SUNY Albany – Amy Wong 
SUNY Brockport – Allison Sawyer 
SUNY Brockport – Elizabeth Hall 
SUNY Fredonia – Caitlin Ballerstein 
SUNY Fredonia – Tiffany Place 
SUNY Fredonia – Diana Derr 
SUNY Geneseo – Andrew McNulty 
SUNY Oneonta – Scott Burlison 
SUNY Oneonta – Timothy Narine 
SUNY Oswego – Michael Sweeney 
SUNY Oswego – Daniel Krol 
SUNY Plattsburgh – Heather Brewer 
Syracuse University – Jin Chen 
Syracuse University – Samantha Ackley 
University at Buffalo – Amber Shields 
University at Buffalo – Amilyn Corliss 
University at Buffalo – Limin Liu 
University of Rochester – Adam Bojanowski 
Utica College – Ashley Baye

COAP Scholarships

Hartwick College – Matthew Roth 
Binghamton University – Brian Galvin 
Rochester Institute of Technology – Shayla Sanders