Alan Nelson
Alan Nelson (pictured) was hired as a director of digital forensics in the San Ramon office at Lindquist.

Chelsea Castillo, Kristi Norg and Drew Parker were promoted to tax managers at Lavine, Lofgren, Morris & Engelberg, San Diego.


blumshapiro Foundation 2019.png
The Blumshapiro Foundation recently welcomed Connecticut nonprofits to its West Hartford headquarters to receive grants in support of their work (pictured). Blumshapiro awarded a total of $55,00 to 25 nonprofit family and children’s organizations throughout New England in 2019.

The Financial Accounting Standards Board appointed six new members to its Not-for-Profit Advisory Committee, effective Jan. 1, 2020. The new NAC members are, users: Jennifer Deger, director of finance and global controller, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (Seattle) and Dennis Gephardt, vice president – senior credit officer, Moody’s Investors Service (New York); practitioners: Melisa Galasso, owner, Galasso Learning Solutions, and director, Cherry Bekaert (Charlotte, N.C.), and Andrea Wright, partner and not-for-profit practice lead, Johnson Lambert (Chicago); and preparers: Kevin Carey, chief financial officer, Young Adult Institute Inc. (New York), and Barbara Potts, system vice president – finance, SSM Health (St. Louis).


RSM US presented the Davis Love Foundation with a check for $3.8 million from the firm’s Birdies Fore Love charitable giving campaign in connection with its 10th RSM Classic.


Lauren Clemmer
Lauren Clemmer will be retiring as executive director of the Association for Accounting Marketing, the organization announced, due to health reasons. Clemmer, who assumed the role in 2015, will stay in the position through the end of the year. (Read the full story. )


UHY partnered with Wayne State University’s Mike Ilitch School of Business, Detroit, which hosted an inaugural three-day case study competition, “Taxition,” Nov. 14-16. This year’s winning team of finance and accounting students, the “Write-off Warriors,” received the first place prize of $2,000. The winning students were David Borg, Brian Boeskool and Golam Tanzim.


Becca Colling
Becca Colling was hired as programs and events coordinator at Moore North America, Eden Prairie.


BKD Wealth Advisors, St. Louis, a wholly owned subsidiary of BKD, announced that its assets under management and advisement (AUM) have exceeded $4 billion.


Traphagen Financial Group, Oradell, announced a rebrand and new logo in celebration of the firm’s 50 years in business in 2020. The firm is rebranding to Traphagen CPAs & Wealth Advisors and in conjunction with that and its anniversary, will be participating in philanthropic activities throughout 2020.


Scott Testa
Scott Testa (pictured) was hired as a partner in the personal wealth advisors group at EisnerAmper, New York.

The New York Society of CPAs is hosting its Real Estate/Construction Contractors Conference Dec. 3 at the City University of New York’s Graduate Center from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. More information is available here.


Law Office Pepeljugoski, North Macedonia and the Republic of Kosovo, signed a collaboration agreement with Andersen Global to become a member firm of the international association.


Lisa Statler
Lisa Statler, a director at Boyer & Ritter CPAs and Consultants, Camp Hill, graduated from Leadership Harrisburg’s Executive Leadership series.


Rhode Island Society of CPAs/RI Business Forum announced that Commerce Secretary Stefan Pryor will be the keynote speaker at the last forum event of the year Dec. 11 at the Providence Marriott, a breakfast event from 7:30-9:30 a.m.


Michelle Endres
Michelle Endres (pictured) was appointed to the newly created position of chief people officer at LBMC, Nashville, where she will lead all human resources functions.

The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy, Nashville, announced its board of directors for 2019-20: as chair, Laurie Tish, partner and national practice leader for government services for Moss Adams; as vice chair, A. Carlos Barrera, a partner at Carr, Riggs & Ingram; as Great Lakes regional director, Kenya Watts, a manager of business services at BHM CPA Group; as Mountain regional director, Jason Peery, vice chair of the Idaho State Board of Accountancy; as Middle Atlantic regional director, Alison Houck, a managing partner of Faw, Casson & Co.; as Northeast regional director, Stephen Langowski, chair of NASBA’s Compliance Assurance Committee, as director-at-large and chair of NASBA’s CBT Administration Committee, Tyrone Dickerson; and as executive directors’ liaison and chair of the Executive Directors Committee, Grace Berger, executive officer for the Montana Board of Public Accountants. Additionally, NASBA announced as continuing board members: J. Coalter Baker (director-at-large), Maria Caldwell (director-at-large), John Dailey Jr. (director-at-large), W. Michael Fritz (treasurer), Sharon Jensen (director-at-large), Stephanie Saunders (secretary), Janice Gray (past chair), J. Andy Bonner Jr. (Southeast regional director), Katrina Salazar (Pacific regional director), Faye Miller (Central regional director), Richard Reisig (director-at-large), C. Jack Emmons (Southwest regional director), Catherine Allen (director-at-large) and Ken Bishop (president & CEO). (Read the full story.)