The IRS will begin accepting applications for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee on Monday, April 13, and continue accepting them through May 22.

ETAAC, established as required by the Internal Revenue Service Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998, provides input into the development and implementation of the service’s strategy for electronic tax administration and a public forum for the discussion of issues in electronic tax administration.

The committee has nine members, each appointed to a three-year term by the IRS commissioner. The service plans to make four appointments that will begin terms late this year.
Nominations of qualified individuals may come from individuals or organizations.  ETAAC members are drawn from substantially diverse backgrounds.

Nominations of qualified individuals may be made by letter and received from individuals or professional associations. Applicants should complete the application and include a short statement of interest and a resume. Applicants should describe and document their qualifications, past and current affiliations, and dealings in electronic tax administration. All applicants must complete and submit a tax check waiver form. For the best qualified applicants, FBI checks using fingerprints are required.

A notice published in the Federal Register contains more details about the ETAAC and the application process. More information, including the application, is on the Tax Professional’s Page of E-mail questions to

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access