The Institute of Internal Auditors has created an American Center for Government Auditing and compiled an inaugural list of the Most Influential Professionals in Government Auditing in recognition of professionals who have positively impacted the practice of auditing in the public sector.

The ACGA is a specialty offering from the IIA that focuses on serving the needs of auditors in the public sector. Its mission is to advance the professional practice of government auditing by advocating its value through timely and relevant thought leadership, communication, collaboration and education.

In the Most Influential Professionals in Government Auditing, the ACGA recognizes professionals for their outstanding achievements in public-sector auditing, based on the following criteria: promoting the value of auditing in government; demonstrating courage and integrity necessary to face difficult situations; willingness to call out opportunities to improve efficiency and effectiveness in government operations, even when doing so may not be popular or may incur strong opposition from those in power; and influence in the profession based on the size, scope, and reach of the organization they represent.

“We applaud these individuals and are proud to honor them for their outstanding achievements,” said IIA president and CEO Richard F. Chambers in a statement. “The positive influence they demonstrate is helping government auditing become recognized as an indispensable component of strong governance in the public sector.”

The ACGA’s Most Influential Professionals in Government Auditing honorees for 2014 included:
Tom L. Allen: Allen joined the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board in 2006 and currently serves as its chairman. He is a former chair of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board and was previously state auditor of Utah.

Debra K. Davenport: Davenport is Auditor General of Arizona and has served on committees for organizations including the American Institute of CPAs, the National State Auditors Association, the U.S. Comptroller General’s Advisory Council on Government Auditing Standards, the Western Intergovernmental Audit Forum, and the Association of Government Accountants.

Gene L. Dodaro: Dodaro is Comptroller General of the United States and heads the U.S. Government Accountability Office. As head of the GAO’s Accounting and Information Management Division, Dodaro directed the first-ever audit of the government’s comprehensive financial statements.

Phyllis K. Fong: Fong is Inspector General for the U.S. Department of Agriculture and was recently elected as the first Chair of the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency, which was established by the Inspector General Reform Act of 2008.

Bill Greene: Greene is City Auditor in Phoenix and President of the Board of Directors of the Association of Local Government Auditors, representing approximately 300 member organizations and 1,700 auditors.

Jerome J. Heer: Heer is Director of Audits for the city of Milwaukee. He has played a key role in a number of professional associations, serving as past Chairman of the Midwestern Intergovernmental Audit Forum and was a founding member and former President of the Association of Local Government Auditors.

Elaine M. Howle: Howle is State Auditor for California, is the immediate past President of the National State Auditors Association) and member of the U.S. Government Accountability Office’s Domestic Accountability Working Group. She has more than 20 years of auditing, management, and leadership experience in the profession.

Drummond E. Kahn: Kahn is Director of Audit Services for the city of Portland. He is past president of the Association of Local Government Auditors, has led audit functions for large organizations, and has taught graduate courses in auditing and accountability.

Sam M. McCall: McCall is chief audit officer of the Office of Inspector General Services at Florida State University. Previously, he was City Auditor for Tallahassee, Fla. He has also served on several national auditing and accounting standards boards. McCall serves on the ACGA’s Volunteer Advisory Committee.

U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill: McCaskill is the first woman elected to the U.S. Senate from Missouri and is recognized as revolutionizing the State Auditor’s Office of Missouri.

Rebecca Otto: Otto is State Auditor of Minnesota and president of the National State Auditors Association. She also serves on the Executive Committee of the National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers.

Courtney A. Ruby: Ruby is City Auditor for Oakland, Calif., first elected in 2006. She was sworn into her second term as City Auditor in January 2011. Ruby is committed to a risk-based audit approach, which identifies and prioritizes the areas of government most vulnerable to fraud, waste, and abuse.

Jon T. Rymer: Rymer is Inspector General for the U.S. Department of Defense, confirmed by the U.S. Senate in September 2013. Previously, he was Inspector General of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., when he also assumed oversight of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission as its Interim Inspector General.

Kathleen S. Tighe: Tighe is Inspector General for the U.S. Department of Education and chairs the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board. She also is a member of the Government Accountability and Transparency Board.

John W. Wszelaki: Wszelaki is Director of Internal Audit for Virginia’s Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. He also is senior vice chairman of the IIA’s North American Board.

“Public-sector auditors often face political and public pressures and other constraints,” said ACGA director Jim Pelletier. “These 15 individuals demonstrate the courage, integrity, and leadership necessary to confront and overcome such challenges.”

Comprehensive profiles for each honoree of the Most Influential Professionals in Government Auditing listing are available on the ACGA website at

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access