The Internal Revenue Service announced the appointment of David R. Williams as director of the agency’s Electronic Tax Administration and Refundable Credits division.

Reporting to Williams, and focusing entirely on administration of the EITC program, will be Debra Holland, the director of the IRS’s Pre-Refund Program Office. Williams had served as the director for the EITC, health coverage tax credit and telephone excise tax refund programs and will now maintain responsibility for those programs in his new capacity.

The Electronic Tax Administration Office is responsible for all aspects of the exchange of electronic information between the IRS and individual taxpayers, businesses and practitioners. That includes the IRS e-file program, its Web site, and the development of additional electronic interactions with taxpayers and tax practitioners.

Prior to joining the IRS in 1998 as chief of communications and liaison under Commissioner Charles O. Rossotti, Williams was a deputy assistant secretary with the Department of the Treasury.

Holland had previously served as the director of business systems planning within the Wage and Investment Operating Division. As director of EITC, Holland will balance the IRS’s nationwide outreach aimed at ensuring that every eligible taxpayer receives the credit with the responsibility of ensuring that only those eligible for the credit receive it.

Both moves will be effective later this year.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access