John Shank, a founding shareholder of Barfield, Murphy, Shank & Smith, Birmingham, has been elected chairman of the Alabama Society of CPAs for 2011-2012. In addition, Patrick Bowman, a senior manager at the firm, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Alabama Association of Nonprofits for 2011-2013.



Fabricio Jimenez, Asma Lakhani, Jarno Mayes and Carina Reyes have joined Wright Ford Young & Co. as interns in the Audit Department. ... Eduardo Jordan, chief financial officer of Nolet Springs USA, has been installed as the 2011-12 chair of the California Society of CPAs. In addition, Blake Christian, a partner with Holthouse Carlin & Van Trigt LLP, received the society's 2011 Public Service Award. ... George D. Stroesenreuther, CPA, has joined, Fountain Valley, as chief financial officer.



Marcella Ardan has been promoted to manager at BKD LLP. ... Bert Bondi, a partner at RubinBrown, Denver, has received the Distinguished Service Award for 2011 from the Notre Dame Club of Denver, in recognition of his leadership in his profession and the community.



Frank Gonzalez, a principal in the Audit Department of Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra LLC, Miami, has been appointed president of the South Florida Banking Institute for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. Gonzalez leads MBAF's financial institutions and SEC practices. ... Rebecca King, Nick Hautala, Stephen Clements and Will Lomax have been promoted to manager in the Audit Services Department of LBA CPAs PA, Jacksonville.



Erik J. Saterbo, Mollie Krenik and Dillon Barnhart have joined Moore Colson, Atlanta, as business assurance associates, while Caroline Geiger and Stephen Gwynn have joined the firm as business assurance summer interns, and Charles Williams as a tax summer intern.



BDO USA LLP, Chicago, has admitted 13 new partners, seven in assurance and six in tax. The new assurance partners are: John Barkmeyer and Nania Gopal in Orange County, Calif.; Sofia Blair and Demetrio Frangiskatos in New York; Mike Hottel in Washington, D.C.; Stathis Poulos in Raleigh, N.C.; and Chris Tylka in Chicago. The new tax partners are: Doug Bekker in Grand Rapids, Mich.; Elliott Binder in San Jose, Calif.; Mike Campbell in San Francisco; Joel Mitchell in Chicago; Jennifer Quaglino in Woodbridge, N.J.; and Andy Zaleski in Detroit.



Nick Walker has been named managing partner of the Louisville office of PwC US, succeeding Phillip Gregory, who is retiring.



Bill Spann, previously human resource manager at Postlethwaite & Netterville, has transitioned to associate director in the firm's Consulting Division.



Charles K. Leadbetter and Sno L. Barry have been promoted to principal at BerryDunn CPAs, Portland.



Robert Aceituno, a tax manager of Councilor, Buchanan & Mitchell PC, Bethesda, received the 2011 Impact Award from the Greater Washington Society of CPAs, in recognition of his work as chair of its Tax Committee.



Carmen M. Kratz has been promoted to staff accountant at Lewis & Knopf CPAs PC, Flint.



Cathy Roper has joined Brown Smith Wallace, St. Louis, as a director in the financial advisory services practice.



Andrew Chavkin, a partner in the East Hanover office of Friedman LLP, has been appointed secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Jewish Community Housing Corp.



Vic Mizzaro, a partner at Citrin Cooperman, New York City, has been named the Best Accountant in Technology by New York Enterprise Report in its annual Best Accountants and Attorneys for Growing Businesses 2011 Awards program. ... Mingyan (Michelle) Chen has rejoined the New York Metro financial services tax practice of KMPG LLP, New York City, as a tax partner with the alternative investment funds team. ... Josh Herrenkohl and Maureen A. Welch have been appointed to leadership roles in the construction and real estate advisory services practice of Ernst & Young LLP, New York City: Herrenkohl will be responsible for the group's real estate investor services team, while Welch will lead the group's national corporate real estate practice. ... Carolyn Bentzien has joined the New York office of Valuation Research Corp. as a managing director for business development.



Anthony S. LaNasa, of HW&Co., Cleveland, has been appointed to the Board of Trustees of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Ohio. ... Dennis M. Dlugosz has been promoted to manager in the Assurance Services Department of Corrigan Krause, Westlake. ... Dave Sobochan, a principal in the Tax Department of Cohen & Co., has received the 2011 Member of the Year Award from the Northern Ohio Chapter of NAIOP, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association.



Mark Ierardi has joined Smart Devine and Co., Philadelphia, as a director in the tax practice. ... Julie A. Ragatz has been named director of the Center for Ethics in Financial Services of The American College, Bryn Mawr.



Tim Bergstrom has been named partner-in-charge of Aberdeen office of Eide Bailly LLP, succeeding Darrell Strivens, who has retired. Bergstrom also serves as the firm's tax director.



Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain PC, Nashville, announced a number of new hires: Karen Johnson has joined the firm in a staff position in the Family Office Department; Nick Milke as a help desk technician in the Information Technology Department; and Yuvon Stanfield as a payroll specialist with LBMC Employment Partners LLC.



The Texas Society of CPAs honored a number of people at its annual meeting: E. Leroy Bolt of Abiline received the society's Meritorious Service Award; James R. Oliver of San Antonio received the Distinguished Public Service Award; Edward M. Polansky of San Antonio received the Outstanding Chairman Award; Melanie C. Geist of San Antonio was named Young CPA of the Year; and Robert D. Clyde of Dallas, Melanie G. Thompson of Seguin, and Claude R. Wilson of Dallas were named Honorary Fellows. In addition, T. Hardie Bowman of Corpus Christi, James D. Ingram of Bryan, William J. Kelley of Midland, Anthony B. Ross of Austin, and Wendi C. Taber of San Antonio received special recognition awards for extraordinary service, and Patty M. Wyatt of North Richland Hills received a Chairman's Citation. ... Keith Miceli has joined Pannell Kerr Forster of Texas, Houston, as an international business advisor.



Dondi Saunders has joined the Arlington office of Clifton Gunderson as regional director of business development. ... Chris Wingfield, Norman Yoder, Jeff Smith and Ryan McEntire have been admitted to the partnership at Brown, Edwards & Co. LLP, Roanoke. ... Michael Wilkerson, CPA and chief financial officer of Dominion Equipment Parts LLC, has been received a Virginia CFO Award in the Small Private Company Category from Virginia Business and the Virginia Society of CPAs.



Clark Nuber, Bellevue, announced a number of new hires: Lisa Cooke, Jessica Fredlund, Kristina Lum and Erin Mullen have joined the firm as audit associates; Celia Davis, Brandi Fruik and Garry Hoffman as tax ssociates; and Tram Phi as a senior in the State & Local Tax Group.

Send your personnel announcements to

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access