Yong Seok Kwon, of the Korean Business Services division of Rödl Warren Averett, Birmingham, has earned the Chartered Merger and Acquisition Professional credential from the Middle Market Investment Banking Association.



Keegan, Linscott and Kenon PC, Tucson, announced a number of promotions: Melissa Seida and Brian DeNio have been promoted to senior accountant in the Audit Department; Sarah LoRang and Elena Gerasimovich to senior accountant in the Tax Department; and Stacy Thompson to supervisor in the Consulting Department. ... Gary W. Fleming, a partner at Henry & Horne LLP, Tempe, has been named president of the Arizona State Board of Accountancy for 2011-2012. ... Mike Straneva, a partner at Ernst & Young LLP, Phoenix, has been named Americas real estate sector leader.



Miroslav Lazarov, director of the Energy Group at McGladrey Capital Markets, Costa Mesa, has been named one of M&A Advisor's "40 Under 40." ... Cheresh Casinelli has joined the mergers and acquisitions tax practice of KPMG LLP, Silicon Valley, as a principal.



Moore Colson, Marietta, announced a number of promotions: Steven Bailey, Candace Jackson, Melissa Grubbs and Mary Alice Lathem have been promoted to manager in business assurance; Brad Parker and Brydee Warner to senior associate in business assurance; and Christina Quinones and Stephanie George to senior associate in tax services. ... Susan Dowdy, Shane George, Tiffany Scales and Michael Thrasher have been promoted to manager at Bennett Thrasher, Atlanta. ... Rebecca Turner has joined the federal tax practice of KPMG LLP, Atlanta, as a tax managing director.



Stephen Leung has joined AGN International Ltd. as its first regional manager in the Asia-Pacific region. He is based in Hong Kong.



Jennifer E. Wood has been named director of international tax services, and Sheila A. Mathre has been named director of state and local tax services, at Sikich LLP, Aurora. ... Paulina Fin Caprio and Mark T. Iammartino have been promoted to director at MorrisAnderson, Chicago. ... Diane Ryan, former national chief of appeals at the Internal Revenue Service, will join the Chicago office of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP as of counsel, effective August 1.



Nicholas Crosman has joined BerryDunn, Portland, as a tax specialist in the Tax Industry Group. The firm also announced a number of promotions: Lisa S. Trundy has been promoted to senior manager in the Health Care/Not-for-Profit Industry Group; Kristen Perry to manager in the Financial Services Industry Group; and Jennifer Sanctuary to manager in the Financial Services Industry Group.



Chad Peters has been promoted to manager at Lewis & Knopf CPAs PC, Flint.



Ellen McCabe has joined LarsonAllen, Minneapolis, as a principal leading the state and local tax practice.



Ricky Vigil, a manager in the Assurance Services Group of RubinBrown, St. Louis, has been named to the Saint Louis Business Journal's 30 Under 30 Professionals list. He was also was named one of the Top 100 St. Louisans to Know to Succeed in Business by St. Louis Small Business Monthly.



The Association for Accounting Marketing installed its new leadership for 2011-2012: Marc Busny, managing director and chief marketing officer at CBIZ Tofias & Mayer Hoffman McCann PC will serve as president; Erinn Keserica, director of marketing at Frazier & Deeter, as president-elect; Katie Tolin, marketing director at Rea & Associates Inc., as vice president; Kerry Sullivan-Lechner, marketing director at Anderson ZurMuehlen & Co. PC, as secretary; Raissa Evans, senior manager of practice growth at PKF Texas, as treasurer; and D. Scott Moore, director of marketing and business development at Dixon Hughes Goodman PLLC, as immediate past president. Kevin Kiefer, Jack Kolmansberger, Kristen Lewis, Eric Majchrzak, Laura Snyder, Carrie Steffen and Dawn Wagenaar will serve as board members-at-large. ... Meryl Futey has joined Fazio, Mannuzza, Roche, Tankel, LaPilusa LLC, Cranford, as a wealth management associate, and Katherine Riggs as a staff accountant. ... Financial Executives International, Morristown, announced its 2011 class of inductees for the FEI Hall of Fame: Robert C. Butler, former senior vice president and chief financial officer of Celgene Corp; Judy C. Lewent, retired executive vice president and CFO of Merck and Co.; and David B. Rickard, former executive vice president, CFO and chief administrative officer of CVS Caremark Corp.



Mark Grinis has been appointed transaction real estate leader for Ernst & Young LLP, New York City, succeeding Mike Straneva (see Arizona). ... Anthony Chan, Robert Charron and Scott Maier have joined Friedman LLP, New York City, as partners, while Elizabeth Gillon has joined the firm as director of corporate tax services group in May. ... Stephen Borman has rejoined KPMG LLP, New York City, as a managing director in the accounting methods and credits services practice, while Michael G. Athanason has joined the economic and valuation services practice as a direct-entry principal.



Walthall, Drake & Wallace LLP CPAs, Independence, announced a number of promotions: Kara Hoon has been promoted to supervisor; Brian Ditz, Theresa Wisniewski and Lori Sullivan to in charge; and Matt Stegmoyer and Adam Deal to level II accountant. ... Thomas Jevas has joined the Columbus office of SS&G Healthcare Services LLC as a senior consultant, while Norma McCune has joined the Akron office as a billing specialist.



Kevin Ryan, a partner at Citrin Cooperman, Philadelphia, has received the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's National Leadership Award. ... Edward W. Monborne has been named chief executive officer of Reinsel Kuntz Lesher LLP, Lancaster, succeeding J. Andrew Weidman, who has been named chairman of the board. ... Scott Balestrier has joined the federal tax practice of KPMG LLP, as a partner in Philadelphia.



Moore Beauston & Woodham LLP announced a number of promotions in its Charleston office: Natalie R. Clayton has been promoted to manager in the tax and consulting services practice; and Erin E. Gilbert, Amanda J. Dearing and Kimberly L. Garmany to senior accountant in the tax and consulting services practice.



Curtis Storz has been promoted to principal in the SALT practice of UHY Advisors. ... Hollie Pickert, an audit senior at Whitley Penn LLP, has been chosen for a secondment program in the Melbourne, Australia, office of Nexia ASR. ... Jonathan Ellis, leader of the government and nonprofit sector at McConnell & Jones LLP, Houston, has joined the board of the Dionysus Theatre for a three-year term.



Wayne Upton has been named chair of the IFRS Interpretations Committee of the IFRS Foundation.



Erik Corwin joined the Internal Revenue Service, Washington, D.C., as deputy chief counsel (technical).



Mary Ellen Michaelson and Brad Weckwerth have been promoted to principal, and Ann Binzak and Kellie J. Kaufman to manager, at Vrakas/Blum SC, Brookfield.

Send your personnel announcements to

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access