Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino LLC, Birmingham, announced a number of promotions: Jeffrey J. Burleson has been named a member of the firm, while Christopher D. Morrow has been promoted to chief information officer, and Christopher L. Smith and Allison C. Deskin to senior manager.



Therese Tucker, CEO and founder of financial software provider BlackLine Systems, received the 2011 Stevie American Business Award for Executive of the Year in the Computer Software Category.



Christopher Telli has been promoted to senior manager at BKD LLP. ... PwC US named five partners in its Denver office: John Kulich and Todd Roberts have been promoted to the partnership, while Ken O'Neal, Michael Ebedes and Keith Parsons have joined the firm as partners from other Denver accounting firms.



Laura Krueger Brock, a managing director at CBIZ Kirkland, Russ, Murphy & Tapp and a shareholder at Mayer Hoffman McCann PC - KRMT Tampa Bay Division, has received a 2011 Women to Watch Award from the Florida Institute of CPAs, in the Experienced Leader Category. In addition, Jack Kirkland, lead managing director with CBIZ Kirkland, Russ, Murphy & Tapp, has been named Audit Committee chairman and member of the Board of Trustees of the David A. Straz Jr. Center for the Performing Arts, as well as chairman of the All Children's Hospital Board of Trustees.



PwC US named five partners in its Atlanta office: Colby Conner, Barbara Coulter, Larry Patrick, Dan Staley and James Thompson.



Jim Grigg has joined Crowe Horwath LLP, Chicago, as a health care partner in the Public Sector Services Group of its audit and financial advisory practice. He will lead Crowe's health care assurance practice.



Greg A. Chester has been named managing partner of the Indianapolis office of PwC US, where he will direct the strategy and operations of PwC in the Indiana market, while Muhammad Hassan has been named Ohio/Kentucky/Indiana market advisory leader.



Doug Rowe has joined BerryDunn, Portland, as a senior consultant in the Government Consulting Group.



Thomas Astore, tax director at Rodman & Rodman PC, Braintree and Newton, has been appointed to lead the firm's "Green Team" renewable energy and clean technology practice.



Ernest W. Stewart has joined Schowalter & Jabouri PC, St. Louis, as a staff accountant in the Audit Department. ... Cheryl Heller and Brent Stevens have been promoted to partner at RubinBrown; Stevens was also named partner-in-charge of the firm's newly formed Colleges and Universities Services Group.



Jerry Conaty, a manager at Holman & Frenia PC, Toms River, has been appointed recording secretary of the Lacey Republican Club. ... Robert A. Raiola has joined Fazio, Mannuzza, Roche, Tankel, LaPilusa LLC, Cranford, as a manager of the Sports and Entertainment Group.



Tom Birrittella has joined EisnerAmper, New York City, as a senior manager and investment advisor in its Personal Wealth Advisors Practice Group. ... Louis (Rob) Rizzo has joined the NY Metro financial services tax practice of KPMG LLP as a managing director in the Global Banking Group.



The Ohio Society of CPAs installed its officers for 2011-2012: James D. Gottfried, a partner with Ernst & Young, will serve as chair, and Brendan P. Fitzgerald, a principal at Sustin, Bartell & Waldman Ltd., as chair-elect, while the following were named to two-year terms on the Executive Board: Teresa S. Haught, of Arts Wave; Richard L. Heidebrink, of Spilman, Hills & Heidebrink Ltd.; James J. Keeslar, of Brockman, Coats, Gedelian & Co.; Craig A. Marshall, of Ernst & Young; Kent D. Pummel, of Clark, Schaefer Hackett & Co.; Kendra P. Smith, of Grant Thornton; and Paul Weisinger, of Walthall, Drake & Wallace LLP CPAs. The society also announced a number of awards: Leman G. Beall, CEO of Rea & Associates Inc., received the Gold Medal for Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession; Ellen S. Fodge, a sole practitioner, received the 2011 Outstanding Member Volunteer Award; and Norman R. Meonske, a retired professor of accountancy from Kent State University, received the Ohio Outstanding Educator Award.



Joseph Ciccarelli has joined Smart Devine and Co., Philadelphia, as a managing director in the corporate tax practice.



Christopher E. Mauney, a senior accountant in the audit and assurance practice in the West Columbia office of Moore Beauston & Woodham LLP, has earned his CPA license.



Raissa Evans, executive manager of practice growth at Pannell Kerr Forster of Texas PC, Houston, has been named the 2011 Marketer of the Year by the Association for Accounting Marketing and CPA Practice Management Forum.

Send your personnel announcements to

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access