The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation appointed six new members to the IFRS Advisory Council. Gavin Francis has been tapped as the deputy group chief accounting officer, Ernesto López Mozo as CFO, Ricardo Piña Gutierrez as general director of market supervision, Dr. Ghiath Shabsigh as assistant director, Zinga Venner as manager of the financial reporting and analysis unit and René van Wyk as head of bank supervision and registrar of banks.


Jeremy Dillard, a partner at Rivera, Jamjian & Dillard LLP, Los Angeles, authored and published an AICPA practice aid, The Engagement Letter: Best Practices and Examples. Barbara Rosenbaum, senior tax partner of Gumbiner Savett Inc., Santa Monica, was selected to be featured in The 2013 Woman’s Advantage Shared Wisdom Calendar.


Leslie Murphy, CEO of murphy Consulting Inc., received the 2012 Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the AICPA.


Baker Newman Noyes, Portland, made several new hires throughout the firm’s tax and audit departments. Kaitlin DeMartin joined the firm as a senior in the tax department while Adam Aucoin joined as a staff member. Doglas DeLara, Marrissa Piro, Nora Antonio, Jacon Day, Brooke Freeman, Eric Leveille and Will Mitchell joined the firm’s audit department as staff members.


Bond Beebe CPA, Bethesda, promoted several throughout the firm. Kelly Lopez was promoted to tax manager while Joshua Smith, Alex Helfand and Tara McKinney were promoted to seniors in the firm’s audit department.


Kala Chase and Bruce Hoskins have joined Stone Carlie & Co. LLC, Clayton, as business development executives.


The AICPA announced its 2012 recipients of three accounting curriculum awards.

Kay Poston, professor of Accounting at Francis Marion University in Florence, South Carolina and John Waters, assistant professor of Accounting at the University of Indianapolis won the Bea Sanders/AICPA Innovation in Teaching Award. Marsha Huber, associate professor of accounting at Youngstown State University won the George Krull/Grant Thornton Teaching Innovation Award. Kelly Pope, associate professor in the School of Accountancy and MIS at DePaul University won the Mark Chain/FSA Teaching Innovation Award. … Ari Samuel was admitted as partner at EisnerAmper LLP, New York, in the firm’s Professional Practice Group. …Darlene Huff and Steven Recor were promoted to partner at Grant Thornton LLP, New York. The firm also promoted Claudia Alonso, Helen Bachman, Justin Burchett and Paul Klein to managing directors. …David Garvey has been appointed to lead Accounting Management Solutions Inc., New York, business solutions practice. … Eric Fox and Vince Rosdahl have joined Deloitte Tax LLP, New York, as senior tax advisors in the firm’s northeast tax asset management practice. … John Wolfgang, one of the founding members of UHY International, concluded his term as chairman. … Andrea Fantozzi has joined Metis Group LLC, New York, as senior audit manager and director of the U.S. European Team.


Michael Koupal has joined Elliott Davis PLLC as an assurance manager in its Charlotte office.


Gary Brown has been promoted to office leader in Brady Ware & Co.’s Columbus office. Sam Agresti has been promoted to lead the firm’s dealership services team. …Brian Liddle, Kimberly Williams and Jennifer Schumacher have joined Winer+Bevilacqua Inc., Akron, as senior tax accountants.


Jamie Hopkins has joined the faculty at The American College as an assistant professor of taxation. … Mary Hein has joined Herbein + Company Inc., Pittsburgh, as an advanced staff accountant.


Brittany Owen, tax manager at Elliott Davis LLC, Columbia, has been named one of 2012’s “Women to Watch” by the South Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants. In other Elliot Davis news, shareholder Bill Quattlebaum and senior manager Russell Quattlebaum, joined the firm’s Columbia office.


Scott Pinsonnault has joined Deloitte Financial Advisory Services LLP, Dallas, as a director specializing in oil and gas companies and the broader energy sector.

Be sure to send your personnel announcements to Tamika.Cody@SourceMedia.com



Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access