The Securities and Exchange Commission plans to remove the 2009 U.S. GAAP Taxonomy in July when it upgrades to the latest version of its EDGAR online system of financial filings.

The SEC said Tuesday that on July 2, it will upgrade EDGAR to Release 12.1. At that point, EDGAR will no longer support the 2009 U.S. GAAP Taxonomy, which is a system that uses Extensible Business Reporting Language, or XBRL, technology to provide interactive data tags that allow investors and financial analysts to compare financial statements across companies and industries more easily. In addition, the new version of EDGAR will no longer support U.S. GAAP Taxonomy 1.0, U.S. Financial Reporting Taxonomy Framework 2005, U.S. Schedule of Investments Taxonomy 2008, Risk Return Taxonomy 2008, and Risk Return Taxonomy 2006. Filings using these taxonomies will no longer be accepted in the EDGAR system.

The SEC staff is strongly encouraging companies to use the most recent version of the taxonomy releases for their interactive data submissions to take advantage of the most up to date tags related to new accounting standards and other improvements. Visit for a complete listing of all the supported standard taxonomies.

The interactive data test suite has not been updated yet to reflect changes in EDGAR Release 12.1, but will be updated in due course, according to the SEC. The purpose of the public test suite is to assist developers of software that must validate interactive data prior to its submission to EDGAR.

A draft version of the EDGAR Filer Manual for Release 12.1 is available at

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access