President George W. Bush has named two former senators to lead a new nine-member bipartisan panel charged with arriving at options to reform the tax code.

The president named former senators Connie Mack III, now a senior advisor at Shaw Pittman LLP, as chairman, and John Breaux as vice chairman of his Advisory Panel on Federal Tax Reform. Senator Mack served as chairman of the Joint Economic Committee and was a member of the Finance and Banking committees. Senator Breaux served on the Finance Committee and the Subcommittee on Taxation and IRS Oversight.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access