AICPA names 2016-17 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship award winners

The AICPA announced on Wednesday the four recipients of the 2016-2017 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship award. Part of the AICPA’s Legacy Scholars program, the award recognizes four undergraduate/graduate-level accounting students earning their CPA license who have proven excellence in academia and leadership.

For their efforts, each of the four winners will receive a $10,000 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year.

“These outstanding students have demonstrated the leadership skills and commitment necessary to thrive in the accounting profession,” stated Joanne Fiore, AICPA vice president of professional media, academics and student engagement. “The AICPA is proud to support these talented students’ education and help them along their path to becoming CPAs.”

The four 2016-2017 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship award recipients are listed in alphabetic order below:

  • Austin Moss - The University of Iowa
  • Floricel Castanaeda - Southern Methodist University
  • Jonathan Peck - University of Michigan
  • Payton Sartin - Wake Forest University 

The Student Scholarship award represents one of four scholarships available through the AICPA Legacy Scholars Program, founded in 2011. Recognized individuals receive a one-year AICPA scholarship and are required to complete at least eight hours of service each semester on their respective campuses that promote accounting.
The deadline for the 2017-2018 AICPA Legacy Scholarship is April 1, 2017.  For more on the Legacy Scholars Program, head to ThisWaytoCPA's site here.


For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.