AICPA names 24 recipients of 2016 Two-Year Transfer Scholarship awards

The AICPA announced on Monday that 24 students have been selected for this year's AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award. The scholarship is awarded to students transferring from a two-year institution to a four-year institution to achieve a degree in accounting.

Each recipient will be awarded $5,000 for the 2016-2017 academic year, with funding provided by the AICPA Foundation.

“Every year, many accounting students transfer from two-year colleges to four-year universities,” stated Joanne Fiore, AICPA vice president of professional media, academic and student engagement. “The AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship aims to recognize these outstanding students for their achievements, and provide them with resources and mentorship as they work to earn a CPA license.”

The 2016-2017 AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award recipients are as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • Brenda Bahena - Henderson State University
  • Aziz Bourslia - Cleveland State University
  • Paige Eggers - State University of Iowa
  • Kaylee Ewing - University of Georgia
  • Patricia Fairchild - Portland State University
  • William Gonzales-Calixto - University of Central Florida
  • Hayden Guild - Western Michigan University
  • Yolanda Gulley - Middle Tennessee State University
  • Bartosz Kozmic - Northern Illinois University
  • Landon Leisek - Utah State University
  • Meiyu Li - Suffolk University
  • Voltan Lipo - Western Connecticut State University
  • Joshua Margowski - Northern Illinois University
  • Teri Moreland - Wiley College
  • Cesar Ordonez - Rutgers University
  • Michael Schlag - SUNY New Paltz
  • Asseta Seogo - Philadelphia University
  • Nadja Skuljic - University of Missouri - St. Louis
  • Jaime Sneade - California State University - East Bay
  • Joseph Sterling - Grand Valley State University
  • Sache Thomas - The University of NC at Charlotte
  • Jessica Valandingham - Arizona State University
  • Alex Villa - University of North Texas
  • Willow Waldock - University of Nebraska

The Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award is one of four scholarships offered through the AICPA Legacy Scholars program. AICPA Legacy Scholarship applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and complete at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, with at least six semester hours in accounting. A group of AICPA Student Recruitment Committee members and CPA volunteers select award recipients based on academic achievement, leadership, volunteerism, and dedication to becoming a CPA.

The deadline for the 2017-2018 AICPA Legacy Scholarship application period is April 1, 2017. For more on the Legacy Scholars Program, head to the This Way to CPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.