Colorado Society of CPAs' Educational Foundation awards $100,000 in scholarships

Register now

The Educational Foundation of the Colorado Society of CPAs recently awarded $100,000 in college scholarships for the Fall 2016 term. Founded in 1958, the Foundation seeks to promote accounting education in Colorado colleges and universities by helping students pursue a CPA career.

College juniors, seniors, and grad students representing 14 Colorado institutions applied for the scholarships, which required submitted essays, transcripts, and resumes. Scholarships worth $2,500 each were awarded to 40 students.

The 2016 COCPA scholarship recipients are as follows:    

  • Anton Collins Mitchell LLP Scholarship – Eric Hauptman, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Crowe GHP Horwath P.C. Scholarship – Spencer Adleman, Colorado Mesa University
  • Eide Bailly LLP Scholarship – Zach Yarnell, Colorado State University
  • EKS&H LLLP Scholarships – Derek Christensen, University of Denver; Taylor Crowther, University of Denver; Kim Tinnell, University of Colorado Denver; Olivia Wiss, University of Denver
  • Ernst & Young LLP Scholarship – Anthony Hammond, Colorado Mesa University
  • Gordon Scheer Scholarship – Michelle Ellison, University of Northern Colorado
  • Hein & Associates LLP Scholarship – Diana Jakobitz, University of Northern Colorado
  • Hugh C. Braly Scholarship – Benjamin Bulow, University of Denver
  • KPMG LLP Scholarship – Gabriel Brull, Colorado State University
  • Mark J. Smith Scholarships – Renea Bonnell, University of Denver; Shannon Dale, Regis University; Kelly McIlvride, University of Colorado Denver
  • Otto and Betty Butterly Scholarship – Snezhanna Singleton, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Past Presidents Scholarship – Kathleen Hale, University of Denver
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP Scholarship – Tanner Bedsaul, University of Northern Colorado
  • Soukup Bush & Associates Scholarship – Rachel Hall, Colorado State University
  • Thomas J. Kundinger Scholarship – Logan Bohlender, University of Denver

General Scholarships – Andrew Borowick, University of Colorado Boulder; Ryan Bryner, University of Colorado Colorado Springs; Wesley Clayton, University of Colorado Denver; Erin Cook, University of Denver; Matthew Dalton, University of Denver; Peter Davis, Colorado Mesa University; Nicholas Dubberly, University of Northern Colorado; Leah Frink, Colorado Mountain College; Norberto Garcia, Regis University; Tyler Gastineau, Regis University; Brenna Kroeker, Colorado Mesa University; Brendon Marek, University of Colorado Denver; Brittany McKinley, Metropolitan State University of Denver; Carmen Moore, University of Colorado Colorado Springs; Melanie Morgan, Adams State University; Chi Nguyen-George, University of Colorado Colorado Springs; Nallely Saenz, Adams State University; Clayton Sugg, University of Denver; Jessica Taylor, Colorado Mesa University; Mackenzie Wilcop, University of Colorado Denver.

For more on the COCPA's Educational Foundation, head to the Society's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.