The National Society of Accountants Scholarship Foundation announced the $32,700 in scholarships to 39 students it will be handing out in 2013.

Since 1969, the foundation has bestowed more than $1 million to deserving undergraduate and graduate students pursuing a career in accounting.

The recipients of scholarships ranging from $500 to $2,000 were elected on the basis of overall outstanding academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals and aspirations, and financial need.

“Many accounting students need money like this to help them achieve their educational goals, and we are pleased to do our part to help them,” stated NSA Scholarship Foundation president Martha A. Bell. “We look forward to seeing them join the profession in the future.”

The 2013 scholarship recipients are listed below, with their universities, the NSA-affiliates organizations or the names scholarships that provided funding, and the amount of each scholarship:

Kiley A. Greene

Carthage College, Kenosha, WI 

Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $700


Madelyn G. Himmelwright

Southern Oregon University, Ashland, OR           

Alaska Society of Independent Accountants: $500


Matthew J. Halowell

University of Maryland, College Park, MD            



Hunter N. Hoyer

University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO            

Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000


James T. Huet

University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Milton Brown Award: $1,000


Riley W. Kinser

Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR   

Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $500


Kevin P. Krautscheid

Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA

Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $500


Katarina A. Krouse

Concordia University, Portland, OR

Nevada Society of Independent Accountants: $500                        


Stephen M. Kucera

Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS               

Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000


Katelyn A. Leal 

University of South Florida, Tampa, FL   

Florida Society of Accountants: $500


Geoffrey A. Lemay

Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL  

Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $500   


Jason D. Moseley

Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, AR            

Ronny Woods Memorial Award – AR: $1,000


Allison D. Nelson

University of Wisconsin-Superior, Superior, WI 

Millard Ashley Memorial Award: $1,000


Ashley M. Ortiz

Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ      

Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $1,000


Matthew R. Ozturk

Northeastern State University, Tahlequah, OK

Oklahoma Society of Accountants: $1,500


Jasmine S. Pettaway

Auburn University, Auburn, AL

Florida Society of Accountants: $500


Taylor A. Robinson

University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR

Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,250


Meryl H. Saunders

University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL

New Jersey Association of Public Accts: $1,000  


Cameron J. Scotese

Rutgers, State University of New Jersey – Camden, Camden, NJ

New Jersey Association of Public Accountants: $1,000   


Hannah G. Sick

Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania, Lock Haven, PA

Pennsylvania Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals: $1,000


Sherman L. Standberry

Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA

Stanley Stearman Award: $2,000


Florencio E. Vera

Roosevelt University, Chicago, IL

Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $500   


Ashlynne E. Watts

Auburn University, Auburn, AL

Florida Society of Accountants: $500


Katrina N. Woods

Madison Area Technical College, Madison, WI

Wisconsin Association of Accountants: $500       


Andy Z. Yau

Bentley University, Waltham, MA

Massachusetts Association of Accountants: $500