The New York State Society of CPAs’ Foundation for Accounting Education announced the 67 New York students receiving Excellence in Accounting Scholarships for the 2013-14 school year.

The scholarships are awarded provide financial assistance and encouragement to accounting majors, and were bestowed to 60 students in the amount of $2,500, three for $1,250 and one student in the amount of $1,000, while three students who previously graduated the FAE’s Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession program received $10,000 scholarships.

"The Foundation for Accounting Education takes great pride in awarding these scholarships to truly deserving students in an effort to support their educational goals," said 2013-14 FAE president John Lauchert in a statement. "By encouraging top-level students to enter the field of accounting, we hope to strengthen the profession as a whole."

To be considered for the $2,500 scholarship, students must be a declared accounting major who achieved an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher and be eligible for financial aid. FAE’s dedicated campus liaisons at 47 New York state colleges help identify the qualified students.

The $10,000 scholarships were bestowed to high school graduates of the COAP program who will be starting college in the fall, to be awarded over the next five years toward their tuition in a New York state college or university accounting program.

More information about the FAE scholarships and requirements is available here.

The 2013 FAE Scholarship recipients, listed by school, are:

Adelphi University - Stephanie Naranjo; Michelle Yim and Jessica Rodriguez
Alfred University - Nicole Sutter, Michael Stivale
Canisius College - Jacob Jeziorowski; Lindsay Glassman, Brian Almendinger, Elizabet Stefanova
College of Saint Rose- Allison Gray, Rebecca Jean-Paul
College of Staten Island - Faisal Sharif, Elena Ghelan
Daemen College - Kevin Smeader Jr., Shaun Snyder
Dowling College - Rebecca Brodsky
Elmira College - Gabriella Coppola, Keegan Knoll
Fordham University - Michelle Ciesielska
Hartwick College - Justin Warren
Hofstra University - Tracy Robertson
Ithaca College - Scott Koblick
Le Moyne College - Zachary Hoalcraft, John Rogan
Long Island University - Shirnelle Joseph
Manhattan College - Jennifer Adarna, Alyssa Vigada
Marist College - Diana Derr
Mercy College - Kimberly Buono, Yuna Lu
Molloy College -  Nastassja Kosinski
Nazareth College - Amanda Stevens, Aubrey Cooke
New York University - Fanxue Meng
Niagara University - Jason Cutler, Natalie Wisniewski
Rochester Institute of Technology - Taylor Whalen, Michael Burns
Siena College - Adam Lindhorst, Jennifer Peone
St. Bonaventure University - James Tantalo, Jenna Torella
St. Francis College - Idalizza Berrios
St. John Fisher - Ryan Weir, Kathleen Fandrich
St. Joseph's College -  Katelyn Albanese, John Gaillard Jr.
SUNY Fredonia - Richard Burlett III
SUNY Geneseo - Andrew McNulty
SUNY Institute of Technology - Cari Donahue
SUNY New Paltz - Ming Kit Lo
SUNY Oswego - Daniel Smyth
SUNY at Old Westbury - Premala Santhiralingram, Esteban Alfaro
Syracuse University - Gregory DeMilio, Emanuel Mirabal
University at Albany - Leon Matthew, Smiley Rojas-Nunez
University at Buffalo - Amilyn Corliss, Sergio Gangarossa, Luwei Jiang, Joshua Seward
Utica College - Joshua Haar, David Lyubezhanin

The 2013 COAP Scholarship honorees:
Shannon Berchem
Joseph Gonzales
Yusef Burgos