The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) today announced the recipients of $10,000 merit scholarships intended to encourage students to pursue a career in audit. This is the PCAOB's fifth year granting scholarships through the PCAOB Scholarship Program.

The scholarship program, created by Congress in the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, provides an award to one student at each of the 84 colleges and universities listed below.

"We are proud of the role this scholarship program plays in recognizing student achievement," said PCAOB chairman James Doty, in a statement. "We hope to inspire students to become future thought leaders in auditing for the benefit of investors."

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act requires that monetary penalties imposed by the PCAOB in its disciplinary proceedings be used to fund a merit scholarship program for students in accredited accounting degree programs. The PCAOB Scholarship Program was created to identify eligible students for scholarships and award funds through the students' educational institutions.

Each participating educational institution nominates a scholarship recipient from students enrolled in its accounting degree program. To qualify, students must:

  • Be enrolled in a bachelor or master degree program in accounting
  • Demonstrate interest and aptitude in accounting and auditing
  • Demonstrate high ethical standards

Applicants may also not be a PCAOB employee or a child or spouse of a PCAOB employee.
The PCAOB scholarship program is merit-based, and educational institutions are encouraged to give consideration to students from populations that have been historically underrepresented in the accounting profession.

For a description of the program, along with information on the nomination process, the selection of nominating institutions, and other details, head to the scholarship program's page on the PCAOB site here.

2015-2016 Academic Year PCAOB Scholarship Recipients:

(This year marks the first time students had the option of being named alongside their school. Those who chose this option are named below.)

  • Appalachian State University - Jeffrey Cox
  • Auburn University
  • Baker College of Flint
  • Bentley University - Douglas Schmid
  • Boston College - Brittany Stefano
  • Brenau University - Paula Ramirez
  • Brigham Young University - Ren Ruiz
  • Bryant University - Joseph Messina
  • City University of New York: Baruch College - Muhammed Ceesay
  • DeVry Institute of Technology: New York - Frank Zanghi
  • Drake University
  • East Carolina University
  • Fairleigh Dickinson University: Madison
  • Florida International University - Maidelys Ruiz
  • George Washington University - Ian Robinson
  • Georgia State University - Prawira Yap
  • Golden Gate University - Katelyn Kimmons
  • Howard University - Taylor Benford
  • Illinois State University - Montserrat Sanchez-Garcia
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis - David Wheeler
  • Indiana Wesleyan University - Roxana Vilchiz
  • James Madison University - Dillon Rudnicki
  • Lebanon Valley College - Joshua Lytle
  • Liberty University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Michigan State University - Aishat Akinwale
  • Missouri State University - Brandon Smith
  • Morehead State University
  • Niagara University - Alicia Sowinski
  • North Carolina State University - Kelsey Isaacs
  • Northeastern University - Jihun Kang
  • Northern Illinois University - Erik Noriega
  • Northwestern University - Edward (Teddy) Schreck
  • Nova Southeastern University - Paola Barrera
  • Ohio State University: Columbus Campus - Betsy Tucker
  • Penn State University Park - Rachel Bove
  • Radford University - Bryan Yunchulis
  • Regis University - Tessa Daly
  • Roosevelt University
  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey: Newark Campus
  • San Diego State University - Tina Thi
  • Santa Clara University - Jaclyn Kavanaugh
  • Southern Methodist University - Andrew Cates
  • St. John's University - Mary Frances Caiazzo
  • SUNY College at Fredonia - Breonna Henningham
  • SUNY University at Binghamton
  • Syracuse University - Scott Longworth
  • Texas State University: San Marcos
  • Texas Tech University - Nia Pierce
  • Tulane University - Cory Cacamo
  • Universidad Metropolitana
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of Baltimore - Muhammad Owais
  • University of Central Arkansas - Melissa McDowell
  • University of Connecticut - Matthew Zalewski
  • University of Denver
  • University of Houston - Megan Iselin
  • University of Illinois at Chicago - Geraldine Deliva
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Kentucky - Julia Ellis
  • University of Maryland University College
  • University of Michigan - Melanie Betel
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of Missouri: St. Louis - Paul Moritz
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - Roberto Rosario
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • University of Notre Dame - Kelsey Amarosa
  • University of Phoenix - Angela Ogletree
  • University of Southern California - Adedamola Fashokun
  • University of Tennessee: Knoxville - Robert Billings
  • University of Texas at Arlington - Kristen Scott
  • University of Texas at Austin - Alex Bryan
  • University of Texas at Dallas
  • University of Utah
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Washington - Nahom Stephens
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison - Sam Lebewitz
  • University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Utah State University - Chelsea Hepworth
  • West Virginia University
  • Western Michigan University - Rainie Quang
  • Wright State University - Megan Fullwiler