Victims of severe flooding in Minnesota and North Dakota have an extra 30 days, until May 15, to file their 2008 individual tax returns and pay any taxes due.

Because the flooding has occurred within close proximity to April 15 taxpayers and relief workers directly impacted by the flooding will have until midnight May 15 to file and make payments associated with their 2008 individual tax returns, otherwise due April 15, without incurring late filing or payment fees and interest, said the Internal Revenue Service.

This relief applies to flood victims in Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin counties in Minnesota. It also applies to Adams, Barnes, Benson, Billings, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Dunn, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Sioux, Stark, Stutsman, Walsh, and Williams counties in North Dakota, and the Standing Rock and Spirit Lake Indian reservations.

Affected taxpayers can mark paper tax returns with the words “severe storms, flooding.” Taxpayers who e-file their returns can use their software’s “disaster” feature, if available.

Relief workers without an address of record in the areas listed above need to call the IRS at (866) 562-5227 and identify themselves to the IRS before they file and or make payment.

The IRS said it will continue to monitor the situation and will take further actions as necessary.

For further information, see Tax Relief in Disaster Situations on the IRS Web site at

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access