The Internal Revenue Service has granted further relief for taxpayers in New York State in the Presidential Disaster Area of Orange, Rockland and Westchester Counties that was struck by severe storms and flooding during the period from April 14-18, 2007. Deadlines for affected taxpayers to file returns, pay taxes and perform other time-sensitive acts falling on or after April 14, 2007, and on or before June 23, 2007, have been postponed to June 23, 2007. In addition, the IRS will waive the failure to deposit penalty for employment and excise deposits due on or after April 14, 2007, and on or before April 30, 2007, so long as the deposits are made by April 30.

IRS computer systems now automatically identify taxpayers located in the covered disaster area and apply automatic filing and payment relief. Taxpayers within the covered disaster area no longer need to self-identify by writing on their returns or using the disaster designation in their tax software. Taxpayers outside the covered disaster area should call the IRS disaster hotline at (866)-562-5227 to self-identify for disaster relief.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access