Victims of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that began on October 22 in parts of Texas may qualify for tax relief from the IRS.

President Obama has declared that a major disaster exists in Texas. Following the recent disaster declaration for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the IRS said affected taxpayers will receive tax relief. Individuals who reside or have a business in Bastrop, Brazoria, Caldwell, Comal, Galveston, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Travis, Willacy and Wilson Counties may qualify.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access