The IRS is offering tax relief for the victims of the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides in late June in parts of West Virginia.

Individuals who reside or have a business in the counties of Greenbrier, Kanawha, Nicholas, Clay, Fayette, Monroe, Roane, Summers Pocahontas, Webster, Jackson or Lincoln may qualify for the relief.

Because those areas have been declared a disaster area, the IRS can postpone certain deadlines for residents or the owners of the businesses there. For instance, certain deadlines falling on or after June 22 and on or before November 15 have been postponed to November 15. This includes individual returns on extension to October 17, the September 15 deadline for making quarterly estimated tax payments, the 2015 corporate and partnership returns on extension through September 15, and the August 1 deadlines for quarterly payroll and excise tax returns.

The IRS is also waiving the failure-to-deposit penalties for employment and excise tax deposits due on or after June 22 -- as long as the deposits were made by July 7.

If an affected taxpayer receives a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS that has an original or extended filing, payment or deposit due date that falls within the postponement period, they should call the telephone number on the notice to have the IRS abate the penalty.

The IRS automatically identifies taxpayers located in the covered disaster area and applies automatic filing and payment relief, but affected taxpayers who reside or have a business located outside the covered disaster area must call the IRS at (866) 562-5227 to request the relief.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access